Showing posts with label j2ee. Show all posts
Showing posts with label j2ee. Show all posts

Monday, 8 April 2013

Setting up Eclipse Environment for Selenium

Purpose: Setting up Eclipse IDE environment to Run Selenium Script

Following are the steps to setup successful Selenium environment for Eclipse IDE

In order to Setup, we need Java, Eclipse IDE, Selenium Webdriver, TestNG.

Step 1: Download Java and install if not installed. Visit the following URL and download JDK
URL: http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/java/javase/downloads/index.html

Step 2: Download Eclipse IED and it not require ant install. Extract and open. Visit for following URL and download Eclipse

URL: http://www.eclipse.org/downloads/ download Eclipse IDE for Java EE Developers 32bit version

Step 3: Download Selenium Webdriver and build the path. Visit the following URL and download required Selenium Softwares

URL: http://selenium.googlecode.com/files/selenium-server-standalone-2.31.0.jar

Step 4: Install TestNG for Eclipse

Select Help /  Install New Software /
Click on Add
Enter Any relevent Name for Name Field
Enter URL for Eclipse 3.4 and above, enter http://beust.com/eclipse/
For Eclipse 3.3 and below, enter http://beust.com/eclipse1/
Select TestNG Software, Click Next and Install

Step 5: Create New Java Project and Create New TestNG file
Step 6: Right Click on Project > Build Path > Configure Build Path > Click Libraries > Click Add External Jars. Select the location of Selenium Webdriver and add the Selenuium .Jar file to Eclipse IDE Environment.

Step 6: Write the script and execute. Hope it will lanch application successfully.

Capturing all Links in a page, filtering and visiting filtered pages.

Purpose: Capturing all Links in a page, filtering and visiting filtered pages.


In general while testing any application we are facing a situation where we need to visit specific link available on the Web Page. The Following script help floks how to handle it.

In the following example, I am going to visit 'www.google.com', captures all the links available on the page, filter the required link and visit that link page.

import java.util.List;
import org.openqa.selenium.By;
import org.openqa.selenium.WebDriver;
import org.openqa.selenium.WebElement;
import org.openqa.selenium.firefox.FirefoxDriver;

public class Links {
 public static void main(String[] args) throws InterruptedException {

  WebDriver driver = new FirefoxDriver();
  driver.get("http://www.tata.com/");
  driver.manage().window().maximize();
//  Extract all links from the webpage using selenium webdriver
  List<WebElement> all_links_webpage = driver.findElements(By.tagName("a"));

//  Print total no of links on the webpage
  System.out.println("Print total no of links on the webpage---------------------------------------------");
  System.out.println(all_links_webpage.size());

//  Filter the Link and visit that link
  System.out.println("Print Links------------------------------------------------------------------------");
  for(int i=0;i<all_links_webpage.size();i++)
  {
   Thread.sleep(1000);
   if(all_links_webpage.get(i).getText().toLowerCase().contains("contact"))
   {
    System.out.println("Search Resutl found");
   String link = all_links_webpage.get(i).getAttribute("href");
   driver.navigate().to(link);
   Thread.sleep(3000);
   break;
   }
  }
 driver.quit();
 }
}

Tuesday, 19 March 2013

Unsupported Major/Minor Version issue while executing Selenium Scripts / Java Programs using Eclipse IDE

Purpose: When ever we are executing Selenium Scripts / Java Program which is developed / written in some othere version than our version we will get the error "Java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: .............................Unsupported major.minor version"

If you are executing the program using Console / Command Prompt, using additional parameter -source <version number>

For example, if your file name is VersionError.java and executing through Command Prompt use the following command to execute successfully:

javac -source 1.4 VersionError.java

The program will compile successfully.

If you are executing the code using Eclipse IDE follow the steps mentioned below:

Step 1: Click on 'Project' menu option and select 'Properties' submenu.



Step 2: Click on Project Facts from RNP and Select Java in RNP




Step 3: Select required version of Java and click on OK.

Now Run the application and the issue will be resolved.